Modifying images in CCR Part 6: Cutting with layers

9 Aug

At this point I have showed you how to:

Set up layers (part 1)

Isolate images using contour (part 2)

Create new bases using weld and group (part 3)

Make use of a drafting/drawing space (part 4)

Simple way to make multiples of images (part 5)

Now to cut.

With CCR you can unload your mat, and then reload it without exiting out of the cut screen. This is useful to change out the paper but you want to do so quickly (aka have your mats ready to load as soon as the previous cuts are finished)

Also with CCR, you can cut out everything all at once, or each layer separately. I usually do each layer separately.

Scary! This is what would happen if I cut all layers at once!

I would do the following: Cut, Select my machine,

Select pineapple layer, load mat, cut

Then unload my mat, have my new one ready (with my paper scraps correctly placed!)

Load mat with all or just one set of papers at a time (since I use scraps I just lay it out at once, which is why every image is on my mat), select a layer using the drop down, and cut. you do not have to reload! just select another layer and cut!

Assemble my items and done is done.

I am sorry for the length of this tutorial. I hope I covered everything that might be wanted. And I hope I gave you inspiration to do something similar with other wacky layering. I also have used this method to make customized cupcake bases using the cupcake from Spring Holiday Lite. There was no base to this either. The layering was similar to the pineapple drink where it was all at once! I created my own base using two rectangles (from the ccr basics), slanted one on the left and one on the right, placed them on top of each other, welded and grouped. To get the correct angle, I used the actual cupcake base and my “drafting side” of the mat.

I would have a final project but… I do not actually have the Life is a Beach cart!

If you have any questions, please leave a comment! Thanks for visiting!

2 Responses to “Modifying images in CCR Part 6: Cutting with layers”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Modifying images in CCR Part 5: Easily multiple images « neuroticdomestic - August 9, 2012

    […] Next I will discuss how to cut in one sitting all of your layers! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  2. Modifying images in CCR Part 5: Easily multiply images « neuroticdomestic - August 9, 2012

    […] Next I will discuss how to cut in one sitting all of your layers! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

