Modifying images in CCR Part 3: Welding bases

9 Aug

At this point, I have showed you how to:

Set up layers (part 1)

Isolate images using contour (part 2)

In this section, I will show you how to weld bases, or create your own base.

If there is a particular question you have, let me know and I will check it out. There is usually a simpler way to do things.

Not all of my steps have pictures, especially the standard steps. I do not have a camera so I cannot make a video. (Honestly I am not sure how I would do that while going through the steps at the same time).  IF you need more help or details on a step, just ask!

At this point, you should have read part 1 and part 2. You should have all of your options set up and your file created.

You should have isolated each part of your pineapple accessories/top layer.

Your mat should look something like this:

Now you have little pieces everywhere!

I could not figure out where the cherry attached to my pineapple drink, so I used the welding feature and attached it to my pineapple drink base.

Here is how I did it.

Step 1: Hide everything but the cherry and the pineapple drink.

Step 2: Make a copy of your cherry. We want to place this new cherry in the pineapple drink layer. Select cherry(1), copy, select blue layer(2) (remember the active layer is darker), and paste(3)

Step 3: highlight your new cherry, go into the contour/edit menu

NB you see all of the other lines that you hid before!

Step 3.1: select that little thing in the corner, and then exit

Step 4: To weld this to the pineapple drink, drag the new cherry base to the pineapple drink

Step 4.1: When the box pops up, “weld” them together.

The drink looks like it lost its lines, but not really!

Step 5: Select your improved drink and “group”. What this does is keep it all together, in case you want to change size or move it around.

This is a great skill to learn when creating shape cards, letter books, or just adjusting the base layer in any way!

In the next step, I show you a little helpful hint I have for creating my own drafting/drawing space in CCR

4 Responses to “Modifying images in CCR Part 3: Welding bases”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Modifying images in CCR Part 4: Making a drafting space « neuroticdomestic - August 9, 2012

    […] Create new bases using weld and group (part 3) […]

  2. Modifying images in CCR Part 2: Isolating images « neuroticdomestic - August 9, 2012

    […] In the next part, I will show you how to change the base of the images by welding. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

  3. Modifying images in CCR Part 5: Easily multiple images « neuroticdomestic - August 9, 2012

    […] Create new bases using weld and group (part 3) […]

  4. Modifying images in CCR Part 6: Cutting with layers « neuroticdomestic - August 9, 2012

    […] Create new bases using weld and group (part 3) […]

Leave a Reply

